How Designing A Typeface is Like Creating 26 Unique Logos

Some might be wondering why I appear to be diluting or straying away from the primary purpose of my branding business and careening towards a focus on typography. "Well, which is it?" you might be asking. "Branding or typography?"

 

The second half of 2020 was probably the most creative and productive time I've had in my life. I left my career in the corporate design world in August; decided to finally open up my own branding studio full time so I can better serve your branding needs; I've completed classes and branding business courses which have changed my outlook to be more customer-focused and given me confidence to better strategize and develop your brand.

 

In December alone, I built the foundation for 2 separate product lines... a contemporary Christian clothing line, unlike anything you've ever seen, and hand crafted three unique typefaces (a total of 13 separate fonts) that can be potentially applied to your brand (or be the impetus for your own font); I was more creative and productive in December, 2020 than the last five years combined doing someone else's work. The creative passion I have now is looking for an outlet! How about your branding project?

 

I've been designing fonts in my head and by hand for a long time but without a simple way for me to use them regularly and easily outside of cutting and pasting each individual letter. But now, with today's helpful software, I can design each letter and apply kerning and line spacing and actually upload and test in the real world and tweak to my heart's content and test again immediately.

 

What I've come to realize is that creating, drawing, and implementing letters, is very much like researching and following the strategies I have in place for designing logos. Each letter form requires thoughtful concepts, tweaks, and some rest between variations. And when it's time to say, OK, this feels right, it's because it has balance, a clean form and composition. It has recognition by being unique and distinct; has credibility because at a glance it looks professional; and has longevity because it has a legitimate ability to be timeless and plausibly be used for many typographical solutions, such as your unique design challenge.

 

Generally I think the description of typeface design is a lot about type, but it could be turned into a lesson about taking the same amount of inspiration and care that goes into one letter and applying it to every detail of a client's project. 

 

I painstakingly research and create logos the same way, and these approximately 500 individual forms I've designed can be used to express an emotion, sell a product or market a service, ties very closely to how I will approach your branding project.

 

And, who knows, maybe the next logo I design—perhaps yours—will have it's very own, proprietary font that makes your brand even more special and distinctive.


Write a comment

Comments: 0